top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBeaReyes

Pop Up Museums

Pop up museums... what exactly are they? Pop ups are basically like your normal museum but it's only there for temporary. The idea is that people who attend these pop ups participate, immerse themselves in it and it's Instagram worthy which people are crazy about!



Museum of Ice Cream

The very first pop musuem I attended was the Musuem of Ice Cream. I remember how fun it was because I also went with my cousin. We both had to see what the hype was about since it was our first time going to something like this.


Los Angeles resident Nicole Mercado stated, "I wasn’t sure what to expect but I quickly realized how fun, interactive, and of course yummy the museum was! The museum was designed for viewers to be able to use all five of their senses. Each room specially themed with lots of colors, props, and a special treat to share. Overall, I had a great experience at the Museum of Ice Cream. In today’s society where everyone tends to be tied to their phone, pop up museums are a great way for people to gather and spend time together. Allowing adults and children alike to be silly and carefree!"


Location: Candytopia (left), Museum of Illusions (bottom left), and Museum of Selfies (right)

These photos were at the Museum of Illusions (which is still open), Candytopia, and Museum of Illusions (which is still open). Again, I don't have any favorites from all the pop-ups I went to so far because all of them are so different in their own way! Although I will say Museum of Illusions they recently just added 3D Illusions and Upside Down House but in my opinion it's not immersive as the other ones. Although they are all for posting on social media it's just the Museum of Illusions I feel is focused more on the visual affect and optical illusions. Also, it is not like the other two where people walk through because with Candytopia and Museum of Illusions they are able to walk through each room but it takes longer since everyone wants to take pictures and again it's an immersive experience seeing that a person is able to throw something in the air or swing on something. Additionally, between the three the only pop-up that gave out food was Candytopia being that it was a candy themed museum.



The Foodie Space (left) and The Happy Place (right)

The two photos here were at The Happy Place and The Foodie Space and my friend Sherleen Encabo and I had so much fun! When it came to both museums Encabo stated, "It was fun and they had lots of cute rooms! The Happy Place was very interactive because were able to do different things while The Foodie Space was cute because most of the food was big sized."


Encabo also added that if there was one she would favor more it would be The Happy Place because she felt that it had more interactive rooms. For instance at the end we jumped in a pot of gold and went into a blow room of confetti.


The very first one I went to was the Ice-cream Museum which actually started in NY but when they moved to LA I had to see what all the commotion was about. I went to the museum with my cousin and I'll be upfront as much as these pop-up museums are "IG-Worthy" and are so much fun, the downside is that the tickets can be pricey. I forgot how much the Museum of Ice Cream was but I recently went to The World of Fruit with my best friend and it's $35 per person and the service fee is $4.10. I mean it depends what pricey is to you but that service fee definitely bumps up the price.


A service fee, it basically is an extra charge for a service being purchased. I used to think service fee and tip were the same but there is a difference between the two. According to investopedia.com it is stated that "An amount imposed on the customer including automatic gratuities added to the bill is considered a service charge. The IRS classifies the following as service charges: banquet event fees, automatic gratuities added for large parties at restaurants and other dining facilities, hotel room charges, bottle charges, and cruise trip package fees. Tips, on the other hand, are discretionary. If a consumer wishes to give a tip, that's his or her own choice."


Here on today's blog I wanted to talk about the World of Fruit. It is basically an immersive picture taking of fruit. Every room is filled with all these types of fruit intended to post on every social media platform. As you enter the museum, they hand you a cone of blueberries, blackberries, and strawberry slices and then from there the tasting of fruit continues!



World of Fruit

As you enter the Watermelon Playground they give you watermelon popsicles, in the Dragoon Fruit Pool they give you an acia bowl from Amaze Bowls, and the best part is at the end where they let you sample a mix of exotic fruits.


Jill Santos, my best friend who went with me said, " The World of Fruit Museum was an incredible experience with my best friend. The museum was very interactive and it contained many exotic fruits and they even offered watermelon popsicles and an acia bowl which were my favorites.


According to Santos she said it was a great photo op for all ages and that she would recommend it to everyone!


In my opinion I think these pop up museums: Museum of Ice Cream, Museum of Illusions, Candytopia, Museum of Selfies, The Happy Place, The Foodie Space, Cheat day Land, and The World of Fruit are successful. To be honest, even though these pop-ups are far away sometimes, I want to go because like I said not only is it fun but I am able to post it on social media. Plus the great thing about these pop-ups are that you can hangout with your friend, family member, and even your significant other!


I can't wait for more pop-up museums that will be up and coming! There's one I will be going to soon and I definitely won't miss that. By the way fun fact about me, I try my best to never ever miss any pop-up museum because all my friends know I can be "EXTRA".




42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page