top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBeaReyes

Life After Graduation

Updated: Jun 6, 2019

It's been 16 days after I graduated and it feels great to be back home. Living in Boston, MA for two years was quite a journey! I am so happy I finally finished my Bachelor's in Broadcast Journalism, I made great friends, and it was once in a lifetime experience for me.





It was a struggle for me being in Boston because I was far away from my family, boyfriend, and friends back home but I learned a lot being away. I will be honest with you, my parents did a lot for me and I got used to that but when I was in Boston, that all changed. Not only did that experience make me appreciate my parents even more but I had to do things on my own. As much as I hated the fluctuating weather, Boston taught to me to really be independent which in all honesty I wasn't until I moved to BU. So BU thank you for teaching me to be independent and strong.


So the question is, where am I now? I am non stop applying to internships and jobs in the hopes of being given an opprotunity to make me a better journalist. I am an optimistic person and a wise man once told me, " You know what NO means? Next Opprotunity." So for those reading this wether you just graduated or you feel discouraged, don't ever put yourself down because someone said NO to you. It's like what Ariana Grande said, Thank You Next! But kidding aside, not only in the industry I entered in is quite difficult but I know that applying for jobs can be frustrating.


My boyfriend and I were talking about how when you apply for jobs. It's just a long process and filling out let's say 5-10 a day can be tiring. Although I don't think I am the only one who thought this but isn't it funny how when these companies ask you to attach your resume yet they ask you to fill out the blank boxes with your experience. My question is, isn't that the same thing? But maybe there's a reason why.


Anyways I just wanted to let you all know that I am a dreamer and I strongly believe I'll be the first Filipino to host the Grammy's, hey a girl can dream! I have many goals in my life and these little hiccups won't stop me. There is a quote that stuck with me by Lupita Nyong'o: "No matter where you are from, your dreams are valid." Not only my dreams, but your dreams are valid... and do not let anyone tell you otherwise.


I know it will be tough, but Rome wasn't built in a day. Also, Oprah didn't become one of the most successful talk show host in a day. So never give up guys, as corny as this may sound... everything happens for a reason and everything that is going on right now you may not know the reason but know that with hard work and faith you'll achieve your goals and aspirations!






51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page