top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBeaReyes

HAPPY AAPI (ASIAN AMERICAN PACIFIC ISLANDER) MONTH!

Hey Everyone! HAPPY AAPI Month! So online everywhere it says that month is the month to celebrate this and I wanted this to be my first post. This basically celebrates the history, culture, and traditions of Asian American and Pacific Islanders in the U.S.



If you press the image, I have attached the link to where I bought this cute shirt.


I saw everyone doing the "phenomenally asian" shirt and as much as I wanted to buy the same shirt, I also wanted to be a bit different and of course celebrate AAPI like everyone else but also celebrate my ethnicity. At an early age I was taught that I am a minority and that some people may judge me or treat me differently based on the color of my skin. I have had my share of racial comments from rude people. But I am here to tell you my ethnicity and the color of my skin will never stop me from achieving my dreams. I am a very cheesy and corny person, but I am a big dreamer and it doesn't hurt to dream big, right? I many dreams and aspirations but my number one top dream of mine is to be the first Filipino to host The Grammy's. After I saw Sandra Oh hostThe Golden Globes I was also inspired, I mean she was the first Asian to host and two Golden Globes: one for best actress in a drama tv series and supporting actress in a series. Oh is truly inspiration and I told myself if she could do it, I can do it too!


So what's MY STORY? I am 25-year-old proud Filipina who is graduating in 15 days and is getting a bachelor's in broadcast journalism! You all are wondering why am I barely getting my B.A.... right? Well, when I was 15 I was offered a very unique opprotunity in which I became a singer in the Philippines. I had a 5 year contract and after the contract was over, I decided to stop my career in the Philippines and go back to school.


I basically attended a community college until 2016 got my associate's degree in sociology and after I started applying to schools in California and out state that really had an awesome broadcast journalism program. So.. why journalism? Well, I have always enjoyed writing and this was another outlet in which I felt that I can inspire others and I was really blessed that I got into Boston University.




Now I am here rigorously applying for internships so I can become a great broadcast journalist. With this being my story I also want to say that even though there were moments I was treated differently based on the color of my skin, I am grateful for my parents because if it wasn’t for them immigrating to America, I would not be here. So I am proud to be born in America and as loud and corny as Filipinos are with the strict culture and yummy food, I am so much more proud to be FILIPINO!



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page