top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBeaReyes

Food Delivery Apps, Thumbs Up Or Down?


The reason people are most likely to use food delivery apps are because they are easy to use and convenient for people. Let's say you feel sick but you're hungry... with food delivery apps and in just a click away you're able to order your food and have it delivered to your home. 


Johnathan Johnson from Maryland uses Grubhub and he stated that he started using food delivery apps after a recommendation from a friend of his who has mobility issues.


The reason why Johnson uses a food delivery app is because he doesn't own a car but he has a smart pone so it is convenient enough for him. According to the Maryland resident, " I have not had many negative experiences with the apps and the delivery people. I say the worst was my card information was stolen but that was one off thing. I typically stick to businesses I used prior to apps that I trust already."


While LA resident, Rito C. does not use food delivery apps because he finds it lazy. Also he stated that it probably has to do wit his upbringing because his parents immigrated from Mexico and he and siblings are the first generation born in the USA.

"In my opinion other than maybe becoming a bad habit like ordering stuff on Amazon so much that you forget what you ordered by the time you get it. Personally I think it's the sign of the times. Instant gratification, high speed internet, same day delivery... I know I sound jaded but I have no judgement on people that use these apps, it just ain't my thing" LA resident mentioned.


On the other hand, the Maryland resident stated, "We now have several apps that cater to delivery of groceries., I'm not sure if the drivers handle more than one order at a time but I am feeling confident that that has to lessen the carbon footprint at least somewhat.

People with mobility issues or lack of transportation have a wider ability to receive food. Food deserts are less problematic because we're now shifting to a society that makes having a smart phone a more important commodity to survival than a driver's license e going up stairs. Although, drivers are absolutely not getting paid enough. They are wasting gas and rely on mostly tips which is a disgusting practice in itself."


Similarly to the Maryland resident, Liz Favaloro from Las Vegas uses delivery apps such as Postmates. Favaloro said, " I use them mostly when I've had a long day at work because I typically work some pretty long hours. On days like those, I don't feel like cooking. I also use it occasionally at my office with coworkers for some variety in our lunches."


When it comes to using food delivery apps, Favaloro loves it! She admits that sometimes the wait is a bit much but it allows her to get stuff done while she waits for her food.


"Although while I enjoy using it, I try not to feel as if these apps/services might make us more complacent and lazy. We might feel the need to cook which in the long run could affect our overall health. Not to say they don't have some positives", according to Favaloro.


Contrarily, Nico Cascabel San Antonio Texas resident is not in favor of using these food delivery apps. Cascabel stated, "I don't feel like paying that extra delivery charge is worth the convenience. If its food being delivered, there's always that chance that they'll mess with it, even though it doesn't happen that often. But at the end of the day people use ir because of convenience. Like an example I still change my own motor oil even though I'm paying the same price if i were to take it into a shop, I just like doing things on my own."

Furthermore, Nicole Batz a Pomona California resident

chooses not to use food delivery apps because she said, "it hurts paying the extra fee for food. You have to tip, pay the apps a delivery fee and pay for the restaurants delivery fee and in the end it's just not worth it to me.I think they have become so popular because it is so convenient. I am more of a call ahead and take out person because I like the speediness of having your food ready for you."


People may be all for food delivery apps while some just plain and simple don't use it. According to an article in US Today "A recent survey found that nearly 30% of delivery drivers admit to nibbling on some of your food before dropping your meal off." While on NPR an article suggested that, "Of the drivers surveyed, 54% admitted to being tempted by the smell of a customer's food, and about half of those people actually took a bite."


When this was mentioned to those who were interviewed, Favaloro who uses delivery apps was not surprised by those surveys from online articles. The Vegas resident stated, " I would hope that those who deliver or have delivered my stuff have not done that. But also a lot of things I order cannot be munched on." What Favaloro means by her stuff she meant ramen or curry in which if someone had taken a bit or spoonful of... at least she's hoping.


While LA resident Rito had no idea about these online statements from surveys, but he stated that he would be annoyed that some would much at his food and its non hygienic.


Personally, I used to use food delivery apps after one incident in which they delivered my food and did not refund me yet. With most things people will either like it or don't but I will say there are great things about food delivery apps and not so great things.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page